Thursday, November 17, 2005

Delegation supports UC-Bechtel lab bid

Los Alamos officials concede to management lapses in the past at facility
By Ian Hoffman, STAFF WRITER

Almost all of Californias congressional delegation has thrown its support behind a University of California-Bechtel team to run Los Alamos National Laboratory.

Sens. Dianne Feinstein and Barbara Boxer, as well as 51 of Californias 53 representatives in the House, conceded in a letter Wednesday to Energy Secretary Samuel Bodman that there have been some management lapses at LANL in the past.

But they say the new UC-Bechtel team, known as Los Alamos National Security LLC, now has things well in hand.


Full Story

The only thing LANS has well in hand is its dick, which, hopefully it will be left holding after DOE announces that the LAA won the contract.
Here the text of the letter...

The Honorable Samuel W. Bodman
Secretary, U.S. Department of Energy

Dear Mr. Secretary:

We write to express our support for the Los Alamos National Security (LANS), LLC as the future manager of Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL). LANS LLC is a partnership featuring the world-class science of the University of California with the extensive nuclear operations, security and business management experience of Bechtel, BWXT Technologies and Washington Group International.

We are well-acquainted with the three laboratories currently managed by the University of California for the Department of Energy: Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL), Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL), and Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL). From their inception, Lawrence Livermore and Los Alamos have brought the best science and technology to addressing national security issues of the utmost importance. Lawrence Berkeley has done the same in a number of civilian fields such as nanotechnology, genomics, and energy efficiency.

Los Alamos, along with Livermore, is home to some of the most important national security research conducted in the United States. While there have been some management lapses at LANL in the past, few question the quality of science performed at these labs in certifying the safety, security and reliability our nation’s nuclear weapons stockpile.

The LANS team will continue this world-class science while putting in place strong business and management practices. The team adds premier management, safety and security operations, nuclear science leadership and advanced nuclear technologies and operations through its industrial partners to the University’s strengths in science and technology.

As our country faces enormous challenges in national and homeland security, as well as in energy, the important work of the Department as a science and technology agency is critical. We believe the LANS LLC team will give the Department the intellectual power across a broad range of disciplines from our nation’s premier public research institution coupled with the business expertise and experience you will need to address the Department’s most important challenges.

An important decision must be made in the coming weeks for national security. We believe the LANS team is committed to world-class science and management of Los Alamos and the Department and the nation will be well-served with this team.


Sens. Barbara Boxer and Dianne Feinstein
Joe Baca (CA-43), Xavier Becerra (CA-31), Howard Berman (CA-28), Mary Bono (CA-45), Ken Calvert (CA-44), Lois Capps (CA-23), Dennis Cardoza (CA-18), Jim Costa (CA-20), Randy Cunningham (CA-50), Susan Davis (CA-53), John Doolittle (CA-4), David Dreier (CA-26), Anna Eshoo (CA-14), Sam Farr (CA-17), Bob Filner (CA-51), Elton Gallegly (CA-24), Jane Harman (CA-36), Wally Herger (CA-2), Mike Honda (CA-15), Duncan Hunter (CA-52), Darrell Issa (CA-49), Tom Lantos (CA-12), Barbara Lee (CA-9), Jerry Lewis (CA-41), Zoe Lofgren (CA-16), Dan Lungren (CA-3), Doris Matsui (CA-5), Howard McKeon (CA-25), Juanita Millender-McDonald (CA-37), Gary Miller (CA-42), George Miller (CA-7), Grace Napolitano (CA-38), Devin Nunes (CA-21), Nancy Pelosi (CA-8), Richard Pombo (CA-11), George Radanovich (CA-19), Dana Rohrabacher (CA-46), Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA-34), Ed Royce (CA-40), Linda Sanchez (CA-39), Loretta Sanchez (CA-47), Adam Schiff (CA-29), Brad Sherman (CA-27), Hilda Solis (CA-32), Ellen Tauscher (CA-10), Bill Thomas (CA-22), Mike Thompson (CA-1), Maxine Waters (CA-35), Diane Watson (CA-33), Henry Waxman (CA-30), and Lynn Woolsey (CA-6)
Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?